3 thoughts on “あけましておめでとう Happy New Year!

  1. Happy New Year to you and yours Dara.
    Thank you for such an interesting blog about your observations and experiences in Japan. I really enjoy it a lot.
    Also, thank you for your encouraging and inspiring comment about being interested in our bicycle explorations in Osaka. Maybe we can share this with you next year?
    Thanks too for giving me the information about knit. I went to the whistle workshop and I am now having Irish flute lessons with Satoko Nishikawa, the flute/whistle player with the group. Still haven’t found an Irish traditional music session yet!

    Peter and I have recently completed the Henro no Michi on Shikoku by bicycle.
    http://www.shikokuhenrotrail.com
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shikoku_Pilgrimage
    http://www.davidmoreton.com
    I think we are very fortunate to have had the opportunity to have this experience. Many Japanese people undertake this journey when they retire at 60.
    Perhaps if we share our story others may be interested/inspired too?
    Thanks again
    Dale

    (Originally sent 30/12/12 but I don’t think you got it)

    1. Hi Dale,

      I didn’t receive your earlier message. I’m delighted that you are reading and enjoying my blog. I’m especially pleased to hear that you are now getting flute lessons from Satoko Nishikawa. It makes me feel that my blog has done some good in the real world – if I hadn’t met Knit at their concert and blogged about it; if you hadn’t commented on my blog, then you and she would not have come together.

      Congratulations on making the 88 temple pilgrimage. It’s a great achievement. Please let me know if you write or post pictures about your experience online.

      I would be very interested to join you on one of your cycling exploration trips around Osaka. I don’t have a suitable bike but there is a bicycle rental right beside my office.

      A very happy new year to you too,

      Dara

Leave a comment